Buchholz High School math team wins another state title

ACPS | April 29, 2021

The Buchholz High School math team has taken its 14th state title in the Florida Mu Alpha Theta competition. The team will now go on to the national competition, which will be held virtually in mid-July.

BHS won by the largest margin in the school’s history. Teams earn points based on their performance in a wide variety of individual and team categories. Buchholz earned 4489 points, beating out its top rival American Heritage, a private school in South Florida, by 454 points. Overall, BHS students brought home 209 awards from the competition, including 17 first place awards

Both Gainesville High School and Eastside High also competed in the state competition. GHS took 9th overall, while an Eastside student won a first-place award.

The state competition was held in person in Orlando this past weekend, but students were also able to participate virtually. Those who competed virtually had to do so under the direct supervision.

Last year’s state Mu Alpha Theta competition was cancelled because of COVID-19.

The Alachua County Public School students who earned first place awards at the state contest include:

Buchholz High School: Richard Feng, Hailey Lin, Billy Yang, Parsa Tehranipoor, Melissa Li, Erick Jiang, Olivia Lee, Ahan Mishra, Tucker Shea, Daniel Wang, Abhinav Pothuri, Emmanuel Zheng, Kevin He, Sam Antonyan, Jake Frazer, Coley Privette, Jeremy Griffin; Eastside High School: Bill Zhao 

Image: Alachua County Public Schools

Share With:
Rate This Article