Marion county superintendent and school board earns Master Board status

Ocala News | by Press Release | August 11, 2020

The new Marion County superintendent and members of the school board have earned a prestigious honor.

Dr. Diane Gullet

Superintendent Dr. Diane Gullett and school board members Eric Cummings, Nancy Thrower, Kelly King, Beth McCall and Nancy Stacy have earned the Master Board distinction.

To earn that honor, a majority of the district’s board members and the superintendent must be present for 20 training hours, including a Master Board Forum. The leadership curriculum is designed to offer meaningful learning sessions concentrating on student achievement through the four pillars of the Florida School Boards Association Governance Model: vision, structure, accountability, and advocacy.

“FSBA’s Master Board program is designed to ensure a school board and superintendent can work effectively, efficiently and collectively as a governance team while maintaining a focus on student learning and factors contributing to the success of schools,” said FSBA Executive Director Andrea Messina. “These board-superintendent teams have shown their commitment to alignment of a shared vision to ensure the desired results for their district,” she added.

The Master Board distinction is one of several leadership development programs offered by the FSBA to ensure board members obtain well-rounded and thorough understanding of their policy-making job responsibilities.

More information about all FSBA leadership development offerings and recipients can be found at

Share With:
Rate This Article