Rafael Villalobos Miami-Dade County Schools’ principal of the year


The top Miami-Dade County Public Schools (M-DCPS) administrators were recognized Monday evening during a live-streaming ceremony on Facebook of the annual Principal and Assistant Principal of the Year awards.

Rafael A. Villalobos, the charismatic and innovative leader of John A. Ferguson Senior High who has helped shape the lives of thousands of students throughout Miami-Dade County Public Schools for more than 20 years, has been named the 2020 Principal of the Year.

Following his basic philosophy of putting students first, Villalobos’ love and passion has resonated in every school he has led. His leadership has yielded major impacts, as evidenced by substantial increases in graduation rates, academic performance, and in the pioneering of innovative educational programs.

Villalobos will receive a $2,000 cash prize, a three-year car lease sponsored by Toyota of North Miami, and a special gift basket valued at more than $2,000.

The runner up is Leon Maycock, principal of Miami Edison Senior High School. He will receive a $1,000 cash prize.

Share With:
Rate This Article